top of page
C01_7961-(ZF-7239-20218-1-002).jpg

The Scarlet Harlot

Madam Zarine's Ramblings

Home: Blog2
Welcome to my Unsolicited Opinion

Hello Denizens of the Realms, and welcome to my little corner of the world and this wonderful semi weekly newsletter for your enjoyment! Look for exciting event reviews, opinion pieces, fashion advice, gossip, and much more! I will try to make a general announcement to the Realms weekly with an update of the wonders that would await you should you chose to come visit. If you have any specific topics you would like covered, questions you would like answered, or people you would like mocked, please drop me a message here at Alchimia Lupinaar and I will process your request when I damn well feel like it. Enjoy!

The Weekend Report

Uncle Cecil's 'something something' Tavern

I was putting off writing this in the hope that some memories of the evening may be.. uh... returned to me through stories and long term sobriety. Unfortunately this hasn't happened to the extent that I had counted on, so I'm just going to have to go off of what my wine soaked brain managed to retain.

I arrived just after the first toast with my business partner Trent in tow. Yes, we are only business partners, and yes I remember explaining this more than a few times over the course of the evening. Once again I forgot my 'proof of age' in my carriage and had to go retrieve it. I am not used to being asked for it anymore, nor do I appreciate the looks of shock that I get when people realize that I am, in fact, getting on in years. Rules are rules, and I respect that, but someone please remind me next year as I will surely forget once again. I checked in my wine with my dear friend Freesia, and I was on my merry way to a joyous time.

Attendance was at just the right level for comfort, not too crowded and yet still plenty of fine folks to converse with. It was easy to get the attentions of the bartenders, there was plenty of room to wander about, and there was no shortage of notable happenings. Even the plebiest of plebs (you know who you are) were dressed in their holiday best and the hall was a sea of fine fabrics, intriguing head wear, and fancy drinking apparatuses.


'The Look'

What I thought was just Lako and Kyara being cute turned out to be an actual wedding with real legal ramifications and everything. It was a beautiful ceremony performed by my best frenemy Twen, who's disapproving look at Lako will live on in our historical records forever. The bride and groom both looked amazing, and apparently Kyara's new head adornment looked good enough to eat as I may have tried to later on in the evening.

Plenty of gambling was to be had. I vaguely remember playing some Blackjack and enjoying myself for a while. The Stacked Deck tournament was already in full swing when I arrived so I did not participate, in fact, I have no idea who actually won. I'm going to go with the safe assumption and say Avendar and I sure someone will correct me if I am wrong. There was a raffle and didn't win anything so clearly it could have gone better, but I hear that a lot of money was raised for charity so good on us as a community for supporting that.

There was a fighting pit that got started somehow. I am told I was really into it. I mean, not like, fighting in it, but rather watching it from Cecil's throne. Cecil came over to try and calm things down and if I remember correctly ended up being convinced to participate instead. Then he kicked me out of his chair, much to my disappointment, but I was consoled with more alcohol, so I was still happy. I vaguely recall Trent offering gold to whoever could finally beat Daekara, though I don't remember if that happened.

The gift of love from Pilpus (and friends)

We swapped gifts. Pilpus had the unenviable task of getting me a gift (sorry Pilpus). I got a 'yule tree' of Blackwood Meatballs (thanks Mathies) and some very pretty tea cups. The best part though were the four wooden coasters with some nice quotes about me on them from friends. I said that my dream gift was love, and while romantic love for me is not a real possibility, Pilpus did an excellent job of reminding me that I am loved by my friends and chosen family. So thank you, Pilpus, it was a truly remarkable gift that I will treasure dearly.

Now, this is where my memory gets really fuzzy. I don't know if it was the alcohol, or one of those situations where your brain tries to block out a traumatic experience, but either way I really wish I had a better recollection of what came next. Or maybe it came before, my timeline isn't great. Either way, the Peacocks went up and did a thing. Apparently they handed out an award for the best head ornament, and sadly I do not remember who received it. Then some stuff happened... I don't know what that stuff was, only that by the end of it I was one of them and Twen was doing something to me that we'll just call hugging.

A short time later I had to use the facilities, and when I looked in the mirror I was wearing a very lovely necklace that I had no idea where it came from. I was informed that it was given to me as part of my induction ceremony by Twen. It really is a very beautiful piece of jewelry, so thank you Twen. I will wear it with pride.

I accused them of bamboozling me, which I still feel they may have done, but either way this whole Peacock rivalry is behind me and I can move on with my life and see where this new journey takes me. Much as I've made many snide remarks and promises that I wouldn't ever join (thanks for making a liar out of me and my award winning limerick, by the way), I really wouldn't be who I am today if it weren't for the Order and the power of my unbridled spite. Much of what caused hard feelings happened years ago and is ancient history. I am nothing if not forgiving, as it seems they are as well, and it's time to move on. I do so wish that I knew what was said as part of my induction, but perhaps it's for the best that it's happened this way.

I had an excellent time, and overall it seemed everyone handled themselves with as much dignity as one can when deliriously three sheets to the wind. Yet the moral of this whole night, my dears, is drink responsibly. Now, I didn't do anything overly ill-advised, but some memorable moments happened that I have no memory of and wish very much that I did. You never know when things are going to happen and you might want to be present for them.

It was a truly wonderful way to celebrate Yule and send this year packing, and I can't wait to see what 1020 has in store for us all. Merry Yule and Happy New Year, my loves.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Report

Feast of The Leviathan XXV It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, but new year old me. I’ve dusted off my typewriter to bring you the important news and opinions of all the goings on in The R

The Weekend Report

The Clontarf Shuffle So we’ve started gathering for social events again and that means I need to write about them for your reading pleasure. I don’t really want to, my enjoyment derived from writing h

The Weekend Report

With special guest star Jean Baptise as Zarine Feast of the Leviathan XXIII Ah, Rhiassa. It had been so long since I last ventured to those lands. Truth be told, not long enough, yet once again I foun

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page