top of page
C01_7961-(ZF-7239-20218-1-002).jpg

The Scarlet Harlot

Madam Zarine's Ramblings

Home: Blog2
Welcome to my Unsolicited Opinion

Hello Denizens of the Realms, and welcome to my little corner of the world and this wonderful semi weekly newsletter for your enjoyment! Look for exciting event reviews, opinion pieces, fashion advice, gossip, and much more! I will try to make a general announcement to the Realms weekly with an update of the wonders that would await you should you chose to come visit. If you have any specific topics you would like covered, questions you would like answered, or people you would like mocked, please drop me a message here at Alchimia Lupinaar and I will process your request when I damn well feel like it. Enjoy!

The Weekend Report

Feast of Blackwood :

Weddings and Celebrations


As usual I am unacceptably late writing this. I'd say my editor should get on me about that, but I'm my own editor, so... yeah. In the past I have always used the excuse that I was busy but I don't even have that this time. It's been pretty quiet around here lately. No, the truth is simply that I didn't want to do it.

Now, before you all start talking about what a horrid person I am, just know that this one time it's out of kindness that I was putting it off. I am not a very good liar, and the thought of writing about how much I enjoyed such an overt display of love in a sincere sounding way just did not appeal to me. So I've decided to just be honest and get it out of the way.

I dislike wedding ceremonies. They remind me of all the things that I don't have and likely never will; love, romance, domestic stability, and the required trust in another being to legally bind your assets together with theirs. Before you all come at me with 'other people's weddings aren't about you', I was married once and I thought that I had all of those things. I was young and foolish. So when I say I dislike them, it's because I feel for the couple up there binding themselves together forever. Well, not literally forever. But like, the forever in some alternate reality where that word doesn't actually mean what it means. While I hope that the happy couple will remain in love and blissful for all eternity, I just don't believe that it will happen and as such feel sorrow rather than joy.

The ceremony was lovely. Sir Tao looked very well put together and fashionably prepared to wed the royal couple. Lady Jinx wore a very simple yet exquisite white dress and looked every bit the Queen that she was about to become. Words were said, vows were exchanged, kissing was had, and titles were made official. The whole service was quite short, and for that I think we were all (King and Queen included) quite grateful.

As much as I dislike wedding ceremonies, I do very much enjoy a good wedding reception. A party steeped in traditions with a whole host of minute social protocols and fashion rules to follow? It's like my most wild erotic fantasy come to life. My expectations were of a grand gathering like none ever seen before, but perhaps I should keep my expectations a little more in check.

The food I have already covered, but it's worth mentioning again that it was amazing. It was definitely elevated from years past to be more appropriate for a royal reception, but other than that and the presentation of gifts, it didn't feel much different than the normal gathering that Blackwood treats us to every year. Now, that's not to say it was bad. It's wasn't at all. I had a lovely time. I just expected a more traditional wedding reception. Where was the assigned seating (that would have made serving people far easier, not to mention how clear it makes who's being snubbed), where was the music and dancing (there are far too few events with formal dancing), where were the toasts (that we wouldn't have been able to hear anyways because you are all awful at public speaking) and where was the guestbook (so that we could prove we were there since some of us never seem to make it into any photographs)?

Again, to reiterate because folks like to take everything I say and pick out only the mean bits: The wedding was lovely. The feast was delicious. The reception was very enjoyable and I had an absolutely fantastic time. It just wasn't quite what I was expecting. I've never been to a wedding in Blackwood before, so perhaps non-tradition is their tradition? The bride and groom seemed happy, which is really the most important thing to come out of a wedding I suppose. So if the King and Queen are happy and enjoyed themselves, it doesn't much matter was my opinion is anyway.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Report

Feast of The Leviathan XXV It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, but new year old me. I’ve dusted off my typewriter to bring you the important news and opinions of all the goings on in The R

The Weekend Report

The Clontarf Shuffle So we’ve started gathering for social events again and that means I need to write about them for your reading pleasure. I don’t really want to, my enjoyment derived from writing h

The Weekend Report

With special guest star Jean Baptise as Zarine Feast of the Leviathan XXIII Ah, Rhiassa. It had been so long since I last ventured to those lands. Truth be told, not long enough, yet once again I foun

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page