top of page
C01_7961-(ZF-7239-20218-1-002).jpg

The Scarlet Harlot

Madam Zarine's Ramblings

Home: Blog2
Welcome to my Unsolicited Opinion

Hello Denizens of the Realms, and welcome to my little corner of the world and this wonderful semi weekly newsletter for your enjoyment! Look for exciting event reviews, opinion pieces, fashion advice, gossip, and much more! I will try to make a general announcement to the Realms weekly with an update of the wonders that would await you should you chose to come visit. If you have any specific topics you would like covered, questions you would like answered, or people you would like mocked, please drop me a message here at Alchimia Lupinaar and I will process your request when I damn well feel like it. Enjoy!

Fancy That


If you were to croak, is that really the outfit you want to be wearing?

Finding Your Fashion

Recently I have had a few Fashion Virgins ask me for advice, and we have had difficulties finding the time to sit and talk. I am sure that they think that I have been purposefully avoiding them, but I promise you that is not the case. I love helping the fashionably dense expand their horizons. It literally pains me to see you all so blissfully unaware of how awful you look, so when someone has an epiphany and comes to me for help I truly wish to nurture that kind of self awareness.

The road to fashion isn't a sprint, it's journey, and all journeys need to start at the beginning. There is a reason so many stories start with 'in the beginning there was darkness', and it's not just because it sounds really marvelous and frightening. I'm sure you are expecting me to say something really deep about 'fumbling in the dark' and how it molds and shapes us into who we are and blah blah blah. But no, seriously, light a candle or something because you all look like you got dressed in the dark.

The road to fashion enlightenment is also very personal. No two people's journeys will be the same. But that doesn't mean that I can't still help you on your style pilgrimage, just that I cannot do all the work for you. The start of this quest is mostly self reflection and realization, and really that needs to be done in one's own head. I can ask you the right questions and offer you guidance to get you there though, which is what I will be doing in this segment of my new series focusing on helping the wayward frumps of The Realms adopt a better appearance and sense of style. I'd like to say this will be a three part series, but it could turn into more if necessary, or I could just get bored and never write another one. So really, let's just call it 'a series of questionable length', which in unrelated news is also what I call my Wednesday nights.

The first question I like to ask my novices is who they are, and not just because I forgot their name. Style needs to come from the heart or it will never look good on you no matter how vogue it is. Fashion is an outward expression on your inner self, and therefore unconditionally personal. Now, if we are close, I can likely give you more of an idea of what your personal style is inclined to be. But let's face it, I'm not close to very many people, and even those to whom I am present to me as clueless at best.

Once you ponder who you are, which may take some time, let's take that new found inner wisdom and apply it to your exterior. How you present yourself is the first impression that others have of you, and even after they get to know you we tend to be very visual creatures and have a hard time disconnecting what we see from what we know. For instance, I might know that you are a clever young man with a propensity for hard work and good sense, but your clothes are still telling me that you are a hopeless moron with no regards to my delicate sensibilities. So now that you know who you are, what do you want to tell the world? How do you want them to see you? What impression do you want to leave? You attract what you display, so what do you want to attract?

Oh, and don't worry if your journey of self discovery resulted in realizing you're an awful person and not at all who you thought you were. I am told, by a reputable therapist, that this is normal and part of some journey, or something. Anyways, it's totally alright to have your outward appearance lie about your inner self. Turns out if you look at that version of yourself in the mirror enough, you develop something that same therapist calls 'delusions'. I'm not quite sure what she means by that, but I am going to just assume it's a good thing and carry on with my life.

So, my dears, if you wish to better your outward presentation to the world, please ponder these questions and carefully consider the answers. When next I write another segment, we'll expound upon this line of thinking and get into some serious and more practical advice that you should be able to start using right away. So until next time, plebs!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Report

Feast of The Leviathan XXV It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, but new year old me. I’ve dusted off my typewriter to bring you the important news and opinions of all the goings on in The R

Frock Talk

Color of the Season - Periwinkle Hello my darlings. This past weekend at the Black and White the Order of the Peacock made some announcements. Most important of course was about me taking over as the

The Weekend Report

Feast of Blackwood 1022 Ah, Blackwood. A place renowned for their loafs, balls, bacon, and gambling. Really, what more needs to be said to convince you to visit this charming locale. I mean, sure, the

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page